The schedule for by-elections to be held on 14th October, 2018 has been released by Election Commission of Pakistan. According to ECP, by-elections will be held on eleven national assembly seats and twenty six provincial assembly seats.

The eleven national assembly constituencies include NA- 35 (Bannu), NA-53 (Islamabad-II), NA-56 (Attock-II), NA-60 (Rawalpindi-IV), NA-63 (Rawalpindi-VII), NA-65 (Chakwal-II), NA-69 (Gujrat-II), NA-103 (Faisalabad-III), NA-124 (Lahore-II), NA-131 (Lahore-IX), NA-243 (Karachi East-II).

Four of these national assembly seats have been vacated by Imran Khan including constituencies NA-35 (Bannu), NA-53 (Islamabad), NA-131(Lahore) and NA-243 (Karachi). Two of these seats have been vacated by Chaudhary Pervaiz Elahi who has been elected as the Speaker of Punjab Assembly.

The seat of NA-56 (Attock) was vacated from Major Tahir Sadiq of PTI. The seat of NA-63 (Rawalpindi) was vacated by Ghulam Sarwar while the seat from Lahore NA-124 was vacated by Hamza Shahbaz.

Election in NA-60 (Rawalpindi) was postponed because of disqualification of Hanif Abbasi while polling in NA-103 (Faislabad) was postponed due to suicide of candidate Muhammad Ahmad Mughal who was contesting from this constituency.

In the provincial assembly seats, there are 13 constituencies from Punjab which include PP-3 (Attock-III), PP-27 (Jehlum-III), PP-87 (Mianwali-III), PP-103 (Faislabad-VII), PP-118 (Toba Tek Singh-I),  PP-164 (Lahore-XXI), PP-165 (Lahore-XXII), PP-201 (Sahiwal-VI), PP-222(Multan-XII), PP-261 (Rahim Yar Khan-VII), PP-272 (Muzaffargarh-V), PP-292 (D.G.Khan-VIII), PP-296 (Rajanpur-IV).

Nine constituencies from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa include PK-3 (Swat-II), PK-7 (Swat-VI), PK-44(Swabi-II), PK-53 (Mardan-VI), PK-61 (Nowshera-I), PK-64 (Nowshera-IV), PK-78 (Peshawar-XIII), PK-97 (D.I Khan-III), PK-99 (D.I Khan-V).

Two provincial constituencies from Sindh include PS-87 (Malir-I) and PS-30 (Khairpur-V) whereas two provincial constituencies from Baluchistan include PB-35 (Mastung) and PB-40 (Khuzdar-II).  

According to ECP, the poll symbols will be allocated to the contesting candidates on 16th September whereas polling will be held on 14th October 2018.

Comments are closed.