Awami National Party (ANP) candidate Samar Bilour has become the first woman MPA to be elected on a general seat in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa after sixteen years.

The wife of slain ANP leader Haroon Bilour has won the PK-78 constituency. She was contesting against PTI candidate Muhammad Irfan. The other candidates in the run for this constituency had withdrawn in favor of Samar Bilour as a goodwill gesture.

Ghazala Habib Tanoli, a female MPA from the then named Pakistan People’s Party-Sherpao now called as Qaumi Watan Party won on the general seat previously.

The elections in PK-78 constituency were postponed after Haroon Bilour was tragically martyred in a suicide bomb attack at his corner meeting in Peshawar on 10th July, 2018. ANP therefore put forward Samar Bilour’s name to contest for the constituency.

Comments are closed.